Boarding - Activities

Weekday Activity Schedule for Autumn Term 2016

Monday

Mystery Activity - This might be an orientation or team building activity, exploring a new place, participating in the Boarders' Challenge or learning a new skill.

Tuesday

Sports Activity - Basketball, football, rounders and gym visits are just some of the sports we do on Tuesday evenings. Swimming is offered every Tuesday straight after school.

Wednesday

Arts Activity - Painting, sketching, paper craft, working with textiles, making gifts, creating group murals, graphic design...boarders are encouraged to use range of media to express their creativity and learn new skills.

Thursday

Media Activity - Leaning to communicate effectively is an essential component of boarding life and that is why on a Thursday evening we focus on activities such as music making, drama, public speaking, film making, creative writing and current affairs.

Friday   

Optional Activity - Free time to pursue personal interest and hobbies is important, so on a Friday night we encourage boarders to do just that.  In order that nobody feels left out, we also provide a structured activity which focuses on social skills- such as playing board games, table tennis tournaments or enjoying a film together.

 

Weekend Activity Schedule for Autumn Term 2016

 

Saturday

10 September

 

Orientation of Letchworth

Outdoor games

 

Sunday 11 September

 

Visit to Cambridge

 

Saturday 17 September

 

Visit to the Cathedral City of York

 

Sunday 18 September

 

Art Activity – drawing and painting

 

Saturday 24 September

 

Visit to Thorpe Park

 

Sunday 25 September

 

Cookery – baking flapjacks

 

 

Saturday 1 October

 

Visit to St. Albans

 

Sunday 2 October

 

Walk into Letchworth – Ice cream

 

Saturday 8 October

 

Open Day (morning)

Rock climbing (afternoon)

 

Sunday 9 October

 

Story teller

 

Saturday 5 November

 

Local Firework Display

 

Sunday 6 November

 

Dance Activity

 

Saturday 12 November

 

Ice Skating at Somerset House, London

 

Sunday 13 November

 

Baking and decorating Christmas biscuits

 

Saturday 19 November

 

Visit Bluewater Shopping Centre

 

Sunday 20 November

 

Craft Activity – Making traditional Christmas decorations

 

Saturday 26 November

 

Bury St Edmunds Christmas Market

 

Sunday 27 November

 

Decorate the Boarding House

 

Saturday 3 December

 

Traditional Christmas Activities and evening party

 

Sunday 4 December

 

Christmas film night

Prizes for best decorated bedroom

 

Saturday 10 December

 

Packing

 

Sunday 11 December

 

Packing

 

End of Term – Tuesday 13 December (12 noon)